Types of screens of e-readers



We observe as one production technology replaces another there throughout many years . Displays of computers and mobile devices are constantly improving. We Will dwell upon two technologies on which screens of electronic books - TFT, IPS and E-Ink are making.

Below are fragments of pictures with text displays made by different techniques.



Larger pieces of display, made by technology TFT, IPS, SIPIX, VIZPLEX, PEARL

TFT-technology

E-book readers with TFT-displays

TFT - (Thin film transistor) the basis of displays is an active matrix on liquid crystals. Screens for navigators, computer monitors, mobile phones and some models of electronic books are making on TFT-technology .

Advantage of such screens is accurate, bright, more often the colour image. They differ the high speed, so we can to look through video films to play games and to read with such devices.

But such screens always shine from within, and also flicker, as the image on them is constantly updated. So our eyes are tired strong at long reading. We consider it as the basic shortcoming of TFT-screens. Secondary shortcoming of the given screens is high consumption of energy. A full charge of the battery of e-book readers with screens on a TFT-technology suffices only on few hours.



IPS-technology

IPS is an improvement of TFT technology of production of LCD screens. The main advantages and disadvantages stay at the same level. Improvements in technology have let to achieve a higher contrast, viewing angle of the screen up to 178 ° C and improved color reproduction - RGB color depth at this technology is 24 bits (8 bits per channel).

E-Ink-technology


E-ink displays E-ink Sipix, E-ink Vizplex, E-ink Pearl, E-ink Sipix, E-ink Flex

E-Ink means electronic ink or an electronic paper. This technology was created specially for imitation of the usual print on a standard paper sheet. At the heart of technology are microcapsules filled black and white microgranules. At the appendix of electric field to such capsule on its surface rise up black or white granules, providing change of colour of a capsule. More information about the principle of the e-ink.

The main advantage of such displays is absence of an internal luminescence and blinking. After image occurrence on such display and electric field is switching off, the necessary microcapsules remain painted. So such screens consume energy only at the moment of image change. Displays manufactured with a E-Ink technology consume very little power. Electronic books with screens of type E-Ink from a full charge a battery to full discharge works from one to four weeks. In user guides to such devices not stated the maximum operating time of the battery in hours. In this manuals stated quantity of browsing of pages in thousands. Usually this parametre is in limits from 5 000 to 10 000. At the average size of the book in 700 pages it is received that one cycle charge of the battery suffices on reading from seven to fourteen books. The battery in e-book readers with E-ink displays isn't so heavy and big, as in electronic books with TFT-screens.

There are basic shortcoming E-Ink of technology: the first is lower contrast range, than at TFT-technology displays. White colour at such screens is little grayish, and black is insufficiently dark. The second shortcoming is until recently E-Ink screens of electronic books for the present black-and-white. The third shortcoming - screen updating occurs much more slowly, than at TFT. At reading of books it at all does not critical, and a film playing on such screen it is impossible to look. Therefore in electronic books with E-ink technology screens do not install a video player. It just will not work.

Screens of eBooks can be touch. In this case, control of the device is carried, in addition to the keys, pressing the menu items directly on the screen. In some devices, the presence of an additional layer on the surface of the touch screen reduces the contrast. Details about the touch screens can be found on the page "Touch screens for electronic books."



Nowadays you can find several modifications of E-ink screens.

Not so long ago there were two new versions of screens - E-ink Pearl HD и E-ink Flex.

Most recently, the E-Ink Corporation began production of colored paper-like screen E-ink triton, they are used only by the corporation Ectaco Inc. In electronic textbook Ectaco jetBook color and model company Pocketbook - Pocketbook Color Lux. The price of such devices until much higher than their black and white counterparts.

Technology of production of black and white display is also improving. The latest achievement of the corporation is E-ink Carta. The minimum contrast of the screen is 15:1 , the density of pixels per inch is about 300. Visually, the screen is 50% more contrast than E-ink Pearl.

Chinese OED Technologies CO. developed its own paper-like display, calling it O-paper. Based on the information provided on the site OED Technologies CO. technology of such displays is not much different from E-ink. Claimed contrast ratio of 12:1.

For reading in the darkness was developed lighting technology of e-ink displays. Construction of paper-like screen is that it fails to illuminate the inside, as microcapsules and the upper transparent polymer layer is very thin. Therefore, as a backlight using a set of LEDs located above the surface of the screen. So, for example, it’s done in e-book Nook Simple Touch with GlowLight.

How durable are paper-like screens? Almost every e-book buyer is interested in this question. The E-ink Corporation for its display is indicates the " Lifetime " ("Service Life") equal to 10 million screen updates, or 5 years of operation. OED Technologies CO. for their displays it declares this parameter to 1 million screen updates. What exactly does this option - manufacturers, unfortunately, did not elaborate . In any case, to reach a value of 10 million page turns you need to read about 12,500 books to 800 sheets each. More about aging e-ink display on the page read "Aging of screens"

Visually to compare the sizes of the book in soft cover and E-ink displays a diagonal of 5 and 6 inches this photo will allow.



The table of parametres.


Screen diagonal
4,3"
5"
6"
6.8"
7,1"
8"
9"
9,7"
Width of work area, mm
66
76
91
103
90
122
137
140
Work area height, mm
88
102
122
138
154
163
183
203
E-Ink Vizplex (E-ink Corporation.)
The resolution of points to inch (ppi)
 
200
167
 
 
 
 
150
Width, pixels
 
600
600
 
 
 
 
825
Height, pixels
 
800
800
 
 
 
 
1200
Contrast
 
7:1
7:1
 
 
 
 
7:1
E-Ink Sipix (Sipix Imaging Inc., today - E-ink Corporation.)
The resolution of points to inch (ppi)
 
 
167
 
 
 
142
 
Width, pixels
 
 
600
 
 
 
758
 
Height, pixels
 
 
800
 
 
 
1024
 
Contrast
 
 
6:1
 
 
 
6:1
 
E-Ink Pearl (E-ink Corporation.)
Resolution pixels per inch (ppi)
 
200
167
 
140
 
 
150
Width, pixels
 
600
600
 
600
 
 
825
Height, pixels
 
800
800
 
1024
 
 
1200
Contrast
 
10:1
10:1
 
10:1
 
 
10:1
O-paper or OED E-ink (OED Technologies CO., LTD.)
Resolution pixels per inch (ppi)
233
 
167
 
 
160
 
 
Width, pixels
600
 
600
 
 
758
 
 
Height, pixels
800
 
800
 
 
1024
 
 
Contrast
12:1
 
12:1
 
 
12:1
 
 
E-Ink Pearl HD (E-ink Corporation, LG DisplayCompany.)
Resolution pixels per inch (ppi)
 
 
212
265
 
250
 
 
Width, pixels
 
 
758
1080
 
1200
 
 
Height, pixels
 
 
1024
1440
 
1600
 
 
Contrast
 
 
12:1
12:1
 
12:1
 
 
E-Ink Flex (E-ink Corporation, LG DisplayCompany.)
Resolution pixels per inch (ppi)
 
 
212
 
 
 
 
 
Width, pixels
 
 
758
 
 
 
 
 
Height, pixels
 
 
1024
 
 
 
 
 
Contrast
 
 
10:1
 
 
 
 
 
E-Ink Carta (E-ink Corporation.)
Resolution pixels per inch (ppi)
 
 
212
265
 
 
 
 
Width, pixels
 
 
758
1080
 
 
 
 
Height, pixels
 
 
1024
1440
 
 
 
 
Contrast
 
 
15:1
15:1
 
 
 
 
E-Ink Carta HD (E-ink Corporation.)
Resolution pixels per inch (ppi)
 
 
300
 
 
 
 
 
Width, pixels
 
 
1080
 
 
 
 
 
Height, pixels
 
 
1440
 
 
 
 
 
Contrast
 
 
15:1
 
 
 
 
 


The Poll of E-ink-reader
What size of screen does your e-reader have (dioganal)?
4.3 inches and less
5 inches
6 inches
6.8 inches or 7 inches
8 inches and more
It's hard to answer



Result














Next






e-ink-reader.ru


Share

What to read?

Linwood Barclay "No Time For Goodbye". On the morning she will never forget, suburban teenager Cynthia Archer awakes with a nasty hangover and a feeling she is going to have an even nastier confrontation with her mom and dad. But when she leaves her bedroom, she discovers the house is empty, with no sign of her parents or younger brother Todd. In the blink of an eye, without any explanation, her family has simply disappeared. Twenty-five years later Cynthia is still haunted by unanswered questions...

What to read?

Ray Bradbury "Fahrenheit 451". The hauntingly prophetic classic novel set in a not-too-distant future where books are burned by a special task force of firemen. Guy Montag is a fireman. His job is to burn books, which are forbidden, being the source of all discord and unhappiness. Even so, Montag is unhappy; there is discord in his marriage. Are books hidden in his house? The Mechanical Hound of the Fire Department, armed with a lethal hypodermic, escorted by helicopters, is ready to track down those dissidents who defy society to preserve and read books...

Dmitry Glukhovsky "Metro 2034". The basis of two bestselling computer games Metro 2033 and Metro Last Light, the Metro books have put Dmitry Glukhovsky in the vanguard of Russian speculative fiction alongside the creator of Night Watch, Sergei Lukyanenko. A year after the events of METRO 2033 the last few survivors of the apocalypse, surrounded by mutants and monsters, face a terrifying new danger as they hang on for survival in the tunnels of the Moscow Metro...

To find these books, check out the "e-library".



See also:

Типы экранов электронных книг



На протяжении многих лет мы наблюдаем как одна технология производства сменяет другую. Дисплеи компьютеров и мобильных устройств постоянно совершенствуются. Остановимся подробнее на технологиях, по которым изготавливаются экраны электронных книг- TFT, IPS и E-Ink.

Ниже приведены фотографии фрагментов дисплеев с текстом, выполеннных по разным технологиям.


Увеличенные фрагменты дисплеев, выполненных по технологиям TFT, IPS, SIPIX, VIZPLEX, PEARL

Технология TFT

Экраны электронных книг типа TFT

TFT - основа дисплеев это активная матрица на жидких кристаллах. По TFT-технологии изготавливаются экраны для навигаторов, компьютерных мониторов, мобильных телефонов и некоторых моделей электронных книг.

Достоинством таких экранов является четкое, яркое, чаще всего цветное изображение. Они отличаются высоким быстродействием, что дает возможность просматривать видеофильмы, играть в игры и, собственно, читать.

Но такие экраны всегда светятся изнутри, а также мерцают, поскольку изображение на них постоянно обновляется. И первое, и второе приводит к тому, что глаза при длительном чтении сильно устают. Мы считаем это основным недостатком TFT-экранов. Следующим существенным недостатком данных экранов является высокое потребление энергии. Заряда батареи книг с экранами на основе TFT-матриц хватает на считанные часы.




Технология IPS

IPS - усовершенствование TFT технологии производства жидкокристаллических экранов. Основные достоинства и недостатки таких дисплеев остались на прежнем уровне. Усовершенствования в технологии позволили добиться увеличения контрастности, углов обзора экрана до 178° и улучшили цветопередачу - глубина цвета RGB у такой технологии составляет 24 бита ( 8 бит на канал).


Технология E-Ink


Дисплеи на электронных чернилах E-ink Sipix, E-ink Vizplex, E-ink Pearl, E-ink Sipix, E-ink Flex

В переводе с английского E-Ink - электронные чернила или электронная бумага. Экраны на основе этой технологии называют бумагоподобными. Эта технология создавалась специально для имитации обычной печати на бумажном листе. В основе технологии - микрокапсулы заполненные черными и белыми микрогранулами. При приложении электрического поля к такой капсуле на ее поверхность всплывают черные или белые гранулы (в зависимости от полярности приложенного напряжения), обеспечивая изменение цвета капсулы. Подробнее о принципе работы e-ink.

Основным достоинством таких экранов является отсутствие внутреннего свечения и мерцания. Кроме того, после появления изображения на таком экране электрическое поле снимается, а нужные микрокапсулы так и остаются окрашенными. Иными словами такой экран потребляет энергию только в момент смены изображения. Экраны E-Ink потребляют очень мало энергии. Электронные книги с экранами типа E-Ink от заряда до заряда батареи работают недели. В инструкциях по эксплуатации к таким книгам указывается не максимальное время работы батареи в часах, а количество перелистывания страниц в тысячах. Обычно этот параметр находится в пределах от 5 000 до 30 000. При среднем размере книги в 700 страниц получаем, что одного заряда батареи хватает на чтение от семи до сорока двух книг. Батарея в ридерах с E-ink экранами не такая тяжелая и большая, как в электронных книгах с экранами TFT.

Основные недостатки E-Ink технологии. Первый - это более низкая Конт­раст­но­сть, чем у TFT-экранов. Белый цвет у таких экранов несколько сероватый, а черный - недостаточно темный. Второй недостаток - сегодня E-Ink экраны электронных книг пока еще черно-белые. Третий недостаток - обновление экрана происходит гораздо медленнее, чем у TFT. При чтении книг это абсолютно не напрягает, а фильм на таком экране смотреть невозможно. Поэтому в электронных книгах с такими экранами не ищите проигрывателя видео. Его просто не может быть.

Экраны электронных книг могут быть сенсорными. В этом случае управление устройством осуществляется, помимо клавиш, нажатием на пункты меню прямо на экране. В некоторых устройствах наличие дополнительного сенсорного слоя на поверхности экрана уменьшает его Конт­раст­но­сть. Подробнее о сенсорных экранах можно прочитать на страничке "Сенсорные экраны для электронных книг."

В настоящее время можно встретить несколько модификаций E-ink экранов.

Не так давно появились две новые разновидности экранов - E-ink Pearl HD и E-ink Flex.

Совсем недавно корпорация E-Ink начала производство цветных бумагоподобных экранов E-ink triton, они используются пока только корпорацией Ectaco Inc. в электронном учебнике Ectaco jetBook color и компанией Pocketbook в модели Pocketbook Color Lux. Цена таких устройств пока намного выше, чем у их черно-белых собратьев.

Технология производства черно - белых дисплеев также совершенствуется. Последнее достижение корпорации это E-ink Carta. Минимальная Конт­раст­но­сть такого экрана 15:1, плотность пикселов на дюйм - до 300. Визуально экран еще на 50% контрастнее, чем E-ink Pearl.

Китайская OED Technologies CO. разработала свой бумагоподобный экран, назвав его O-paper. Судя по информации, представленной на сайте OED Technologies CO. технология таких дисплеев мало чем отличается от E-ink. Заявленное соотношение контраста 12:1.

Для чтения в темноте была разработана функция подсветки e-ink дисплеев. Конструкция бумагоподобного экрана такова, что его не удается подсветить изнутри, так как микрокапсулы непрозрачны и верхний полимерный слой очень тонкий. Поэтому в качестве подсветки используют набор светодиодов, расположенных над поверхностью экрана. Так, например, сделано в электронной книге Nook Simple Touch with GlowLight.

Насколько долговечны бумагоподобные экраны? Этим вопросом интересуется практически каждый покупатель электронной книги. Корпорация E-ink указывает для своих дисплеев параметр "Время жизни" ("Service Life") равным 10 миллионов обновлений экрана, либо 5 лет эксплуатации. OED Technologies CO. для своих дисплеев заявляет этот параметр равным 1 миллион обновлений экрана. Что конкретно означает этот параметр - производители, к сожалению, не уточняют. В любом случае, чтобы достичь значения 10 миллионов перелистываний страниц Вам необходимо прочитать приблизительно 12500 книг по 800 листов в каждой. Подробнее о старении e-ink дисплеев прочитать на страничке "Старение экранов"

Наглядно сравнить размеры книги в мягком переплете и E-ink дисплеев диагональю 5 и 6 дюймов
позволит эта фотография.

Чем и как чистить E-ink экран читайте в материале "Уход за электронными книгами".

Как заменить треснувший E-ink экран читайте в материале "Замена экрана".


Таблица параметров.


Ди­а­го­наль эк­ра­на 4,3" 5" 6" 6,8" 7,1" 7,8" 8" 9" 9,7"
Ши­ри­на ра­бо­чей об­лас­ти, мм 66 76 91 103 91 119 122 137 140
Вы­со­та ра­бо­чей об­лас­ти, мм 88 102 122 138 156 158 163 183 203
E-Ink Vizplex (E-ink Corporation.)
Раз­ре­ше­ние то­чек на дюйм (ppi)   200 167           150
Пик­се­лов по го­ри­зон­та­ли   600 600           825
Пик­се­лов по вер­ти­ка­ли   800 800           1200
Конт­раст­ность   7:1 7:1           7:1
E-Ink Sipix (Sipix Imaging Inc., сейчас приобретена E-ink Corporation.)
Раз­ре­ше­ние то­чек на дюйм (ppi)     167         142  
Пик­се­лов по го­ри­зон­та­ли     600         758  
Пик­се­лов по вер­ти­ка­ли     800         1024  
Конт­раст­но­сть     6:1         6:1  
E-Ink Pearl (E-ink Corporation.)
Раз­ре­ше­ние то­чек на дюйм (ppi)   200 167   140       150
Пик­се­лов по го­ри­зон­та­ли   600 600   600       825
Пик­се­лов по вер­ти­ка­ли   800 800   1024       1200
Конт­раст­но­сть   10:1 10:1   10:1       10:1
O-paper или OED E-ink (OED Technologies CO., LTD.)
Раз­ре­ше­ние то­чек на дюйм (ppi) 233   167       160    
Пик­се­лов по го­ри­зон­та­ли 600   600       758    
Пик­се­лов по вер­ти­ка­ли 800   800       1024    
Конт­раст­но­сть 12:1   12:1       12:1    
E-Ink Pearl HD (E-ink Corporation, LG DisplayCompany.)
Раз­ре­ше­ние то­чек на дюйм (ppi)     212 265     250    
Пик­се­лов по го­ри­зон­та­ли     758 1080     1200    
Пик­се­лов по вер­ти­ка­ли     1024 1440     1600    
Конт­раст­но­сть     12:1 12:1     12:1    
E-Ink Flex (E-ink Corporation, LG DisplayCompany.)
Раз­ре­ше­ние то­чек на дюйм (ppi)     212            
Пик­се­лов по го­ри­зон­та­ли     758            
Пик­се­лов по вер­ти­ка­ли     1024            
Конт­раст­но­сть     10:1            
E-Ink Carta (E-ink Corporation.)
Раз­ре­ше­ние то­чек на дюйм (ppi)     212 265          
Пик­се­лов по го­ри­зон­та­ли     758 1080          
Пик­се­лов по вер­ти­ка­ли     1024 1440          
Конт­раст­но­сть     15:1 15:1          
E-Ink Carta HD (E-ink Corporation.)
Раз­ре­ше­ние то­чек на дюйм (ppi)     300     300      
Пик­се­лов по го­ри­зон­та­ли     1080     1404      
Пик­се­лов по вер­ти­ка­ли     1440     1872      
Конт­раст­но­сть     15:1     15:1      


The Poll of E-ink-reader
На каком устройстве вы читаете ?
Я читаю только бумажные книги
на электронной книге (E-ink)
на электронной книге (TFT)
на планшете
на смартфоне/телефоне
на компьютере/ноутбуке
на чем-то другом



Result






Читать дальше


Выбрать электронную книгу





Наши новости:


Что почитать?

Сесилия Ахерн. "Там, где ты" В детстве Сэнди Шорт не выносила, когда терялись вещи. Ей ничего не стоило потратить несколько дней на поиски невесть куда запропастившегося носка — к недоумению родителей, в конце концов настоявших, чтобы дочь начала посещать школьного психолога. Став взрослой, она поступает на работу в полицию, а потом открывает собственное агентство по розыску пропавших без вести людей. Расследование очередного дела приводит Сэнди в Лимерик, где ее следы теряются. Машина, брошенная на обочине вместе с важными документами и мобильным телефоном, выглядит более чем странно. Неужели Сэнди суждено повторить судьбу тех, кого она ищет?

Сесилия Ахерн. "Подарок" Лу Сафферн по сути баловень судьбы — во всяком случае, так считают окружающие. Он смог сделать блестящую карьеру, у него великолепный дом и прекрасная семья.На самом же деле все запуталось в его жизни: в погоне за профессиональными успехами ему приходится приносить в жертву интересы своих родных. И вот однажды он встречает бродягу, очень схожего с ним внешне. Лу получает чудесный подарок от этого странного человека — зелье, придающее ему способностью быть сразу в двух местах.

Валентин Пикуль "Мальчики с бантиками". Мальчишки из Школы юнг с Соловецких островов... Их юность пришлась на "сороковые роковые" - годы Великой Отечественной войны. Многие из них прямо со школьной скамьи ступили на палубы боевых кораблей, - а мечтали об этом все. Они связали свою судьбу с морем еще в том возрасте, когда их сверстники только-только подумывают о выборе будущей профессии.

Чтобы найти эти книги, загляните в раздел "Электронные библиотеки".

Смотрите также: