Apps for reading on Apple



There are not so many good quality apps-readers for operation system IOS for iPhone and iPad, as for Android, also among them there are a lot of paid apps. Just recently among the programmes for reading was leading Stanza, but it was deleted from an app store for Apple because of distribution of pirated content. This article can help to choose a good quality programme for reading and not to overpay for it.

The main criteria of choice will be:

All programmes rewiewed in this article can work on iPhone, iPad and iPad touch.


Programme KyBook

Программа Kybook

One of the most easy, compact and quickly working apps-readers for IOS is KyBook. Despite the fact of it's ease, there are realized almost all nesessary functions in it: supporting of formats EPUB, FB2, RTF, PDF, DJVU, CHM, CBR, CBZ, MP3, M4A, M4B, work with OPDS-catalogues and network folders Google Books, Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive. KyBook can work with dictionaries, read aloud, has a lot of settings of fonts, pictures, brims and so on.

The main disadvantage of this programme is inability of flexible adjustment of tap-zones and gestures for scrolling and program management.


Programme iBouquiniste

Программа iBouquiniste

It is powerful and quickly working programme, although it appeared recently. It supports FB2, EPUB, MOBI, TXT, PDF and DJVU formats and also ZIP and RAR archives, can work with OPDS-catalogues, read aloud. When you add some books into the library of the programme, they're automatically sorted by surnames of authors.

Appearance of the page is as close as possible to paper original: there're supported different styles of titles, epigraphs, there is flexible pagination, footnotes appear at the bottom of the page. More over, iBouquiniste has some unique functions:

The programme has two levels of settings - easy and advanced, with which help you can set almost the whole interface for yourself.

Despite the fact of very rich functional opportunities app-reader iBouquiniste has some disadvantages. This programme is paid, there's no flexible setting of tap-zones and gestures for scrolling and opportunity of work with off-line dictionaries.

The free version of the programme iBouquiniste Lite doesn't have an opportunity to work with PDF and DJVU formats, it doesn't work with iCloud and shows adverts in the very last line.


Programme MARVIN

Программа MARVIN

Now App Store offers to download MARVIN programme in two versions - free and paid. Both of the versions have the same functions. So, the free version is the same as the paid.

MARVIN works only with EPUB format, but, although, many readers call it "the best programme for reading for last years".

In this programme almost everything can be set for yourself - fonts, indents, colours, tap zones, gestures for scrolling and programme management. The page on the screen is very similar to paper original, there is supported appearing of footnotes at the bottom of the page.

MARVIN copes with downloading books excellentely. There is realized support of OPDA-catalogues, you're able to work with "usual storage" Dropbox, Dropbox, also there is a special interface with programme-librarian Calibrie.

There are two big disadvantages in this programme, and they're felt at once. There's only one supported format and only English-speaking interface.


For convenient perception of information all parameters of these programme are given in the table:

Name of the programme Price For­mats Foot­no­tes at the bot­tom Hy­phe­na­ti­ons OPDS cata­lo­gues Sup­por­ting of dic­ti­ona­ries Lan­gua­ge of in­ter­face Set­ting of tap-zo­nes
EPUB MOBI PDF TXT FB2 DJVU CHM
KyBook free                       Engl/Russ  
iBouquiniste 5 $                     on line Engl/Russ  
iBouquiniste lite free                     on line Engl/Russ  
MARVIN 3,5 $                       Engl.  
MARVIN lite free                       Engl.  


All of these programmes can be installed in App Store:



KyBook

iBouquiniste light

iBouquiniste

MARVIN free

MARVIN

The resource appstudio.org contains one more rewiew of programmes for reading on iPad, iPhone.




The Poll of E-ink-reader
What programme for reading do you have on your device (Apple)?
iBooks (basic)
Marvin
KyBook
iBouquiniste
Another programme



Result














Next






e-ink-reader.ru


Share

What to read?

Jean Kwok "Mambo in Chinatown". Twenty-two-year-old Charlie Wong grew up in New York’s Chinatown, the older daughter of a Beijing ballerina and a noodle maker. Though an ABC (American-born Chinese), Charlie’s entire life has been limited to this small area. Now grown, she lives in the same tiny apartment with her widower father and her eleven-year-old sister, and works—miserably—as a dishwasher...

What to read?

Charlaine Harris "Day Shift". Welcome to Midnight, Texas. It's a quiet little town, perched at the junction between Davy Road and Witch Light Road, and it's easy to miss. With its boarded-up windows, single traffic light and sleepy air, there's nothing special about Midnight . . . which is exactly how the residents like it. So when the news comes that a new owner plans to renovate the run-down, abandoned old hotel in town, it's not met with pleasure. Who would want to come to Midnight, with its handful of shops, the Home Cookin diner, and quiet residents - and why? But there are bigger problems in the air. When Manfred Bernado, the newest resident in town, is swept up in a deadly investigation suddenly the hotel and its residents are the least of the towns concern. The police, lawyers and journalists are all headed to Midnight, and it's the worst possible moment...

Jean Kwok "Girl in Translation". When Kimberly Chang and her mother emigrate from Hong Kong to Brooklyn squalor, she quickly begins a secret double life: exceptional schoolgirl during the day, Chinatown sweatshop worker in the evenings. Disguising the more difficult truths of her life-like the staggering degree of her poverty, the weight of her family's future resting on her shoulders, or her secret love for a factory boy who shares none of her talent or ambition-Kimberly learns to constantly translate not just her language but herself back and forth between the worlds she straddles....

To find these books, check out the "e-library".


See also:

Приложения для чтения на Apple



Количество качественных программ-читалок под операционную систему IOS для iPhone и iPad не так велико, как для устройств под операционной системой Android, при этом среди них очень много платных приложений. Еще сравнительно недавно среди программ для чтения лидировала Stanza, но она была удалена из магазина приложений для Apple (App Store) за распространение пиратского контента. Эта статья может помочь выбрать качественную программу для чтения и не переплатить при этом.

Основными критериями выбора будут:

Все рассмотренные ниже программы могут работать и на iPhone, и на iPad, и на iPad touch.


Программа KyBook

Программа Kybook

Одной из самых легких, компактных и быстро работающих программ-читалок под IOS является KyBook. Несмотря на свою простоту в ней реализованы практически все необходимые функции: поддержка форматов EPUB, FB2, RTF, PDF, DJVU, CHM, CBR, CBZ, MP3, M4A, M4B, работа с OPDS каталогами и сетевыми папками Google Books, Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Яндекс Диск. KyBook может работать со словарями, читать вслух, имеет множество настроек шрифтов, фоновых изображений, полей и т. д.

Основным недостатком программы является отсутствие возможности гибкой настройки тап-зон и жестов для листания и управления программой.


Программа iBouquiniste

Программа iBouquiniste

Недавно появившаяся, и вместе с этим - мощная и быстро развивающаяся программа. Она поддерживает следующие форматы текстовых файлов: FB2, EPUB, MOBI, TXT, PDF и DJVU, а также ZIP и RAR архивов, может работать с OPDS-каталогами, читать вслух. При добавлении новых книг в библиотеку программы, они автоматически сортируются по фамилиям авторов.

Внешний вид страницы книги максимально приближен к бумажному оригиналу: поддерживаются разные стили заголовков, эпиграфов, есть гибкая нумерация страниц, внизу страницы отображаются сноски. Помимо этого iBouquiniste имеет ряд уникальных функций:

Программа имеет два уровня настроек – простые и продвинутые, с помощью которых можно настроить практически весь интерфейс "под себя".

Несмотря на богатые функциональные возможности читалка iBouquiniste имеет и недостатки – программа платная, отсутствует гибкая настройка тап-зон и жестов листания и возможность работы с off-line словарями.

Бесплатный вариант программы - iBouquiniste Lite лишен возможности работы с форматами PDF и DJVU, не работает с iCloud и в нижней строке показывает рекламу.


Программа MARVIN

Программа MARVIN

App Store сегодня предлагает загрузить программу MARVIN одном из в двух вариантах – платном и бесплатном. Оба варианта имеют абсолютно одинаковый функционал. То есть бесплатный вариант программы ничем не отличается от платного.

MARVIN работает только с одним текстовым форматом – EPUB, но, несмотря на это, многие читатели называют ее "лучшей программой для чтения за последние годы".

В программе практически все можно настроить "под себя" - шрифты, отступы, цвета, тап-зоны, жесты для листания и управления программой. Страница на экране весьма похожа на бумажный оригинал, поддерживается отображение сносок внизу страницы.

С загрузкой книг MARVIN также справляется на твердую пятерку: реализована поддержка OPDS-каталогов, возможна работа с "облачным хранилищем" Dropbox, также есть специальный интерфейс с программой-библиотекарем Calibre.

Существенных недостатков программы два, и они ощущаются сразу: только один поддерживаемый текстовый формат и только англоязычный интерфейс.


Для удобства восприятия информации все параметры этих читалок приведены в таблице:

Наз­ва­ние прог­рам­мы Цена Фор­ма­ты Снос­ки вни­зу Пе­ре­но­сы OPDS ка­та­ло­ги Под­держ­ка сло­ва­рей Язык ин­тер­фей­са Нас­трой­ка тап-зон
EPUB MOBI PDF TXT FB2 DJVU CHM
KyBook бес­плат­но                       Русск. / Англ.  
iBouquiniste 279 руб.                     on line Русск. / Англ.  
iBouquiniste lite бес­плат­но                     on line Русск. / Англ.  
MARVIN 219 руб.                       Англ.  
MARVIN lite бес­плат­но                       Англ.  


Все эти программы можно установить через магазин приложений App Store:


Загрузить Kybook
KyBook
Загрузить iBouquiniste light
iBouquiniste light
Загрузить iBouquiniste
iBouquiniste
Загрузить MARVIN free
MARVIN free
Загрузить MARVIN
MARVIN

Ресурс appstudio.org содержит еще один обзор читалок для iPad / iPhone в виде подробной таблицы.












Читать дальше


Выбрать электронную книгу


Соглашение о cookie




Наши новости:


Что почитать?

Одри Хепберн "Одри Хепберн. Жизнь, рассказанная ею самой. Признания в любви". Хотя Одри Хепберн начала писать мемуары после того, как врачи поставили ей смертельный диагноз, вы не найдете в этой поразительно светлой книге ни жалоб, ни горечи, ни проклятий безжалостной судьбе - лишь признание в любви к людям и жизни. Прекраснейшая женщина всех времен и народов по опросу журнала "ELLE" (причем учитывались не только внешние данные, но и душевная красота) уходила так же чисто и светло, как жила, посвятив последние три месяца не сведению счетов, а благодарным воспоминаниям обо всех, кого любила.

Линвуд Баркли. "Исчезнуть не простившись." Однажды утром 14-летняя девочка —Синтия проснулась в пустой квартире. Ее родители исчезли.  Куда они исчезли осталось неизвестным. Через 25 лет в семье —Синтии начинают происходить мистические событи¤. —Синтия вместе с мужем до сих пор пытается разгадать загадку исчезновения родителей.

Роберт Гэлбрейт "Зов кукушки". Дебютный роман безвестного Роберта Гэлбрейта вряд ли бы вызвал такой ажиотаж, если бы за этим псевдонимом не скрывалась Джоан Роулинг. Писательница еще раз доказала, что мастерство рассказчика ей не изменило. "Зов кукушки" — это классический спокойный, интеллектуальный детектив в лучших традициях жанра: преступление, сыщик, лихой сюжет и великолепно отточенный стиль.

Чтобы найти эти книги, загляните в раздел "Электронные библиотеки".

Смотрите также: